My first coop build

rkane5150

Hatching
8 Years
Mar 31, 2011
Built this coop over the last 3 weeks.
I managed to build most of the structure from reclaimed wood from a home demolition. I did purchase a window, hardware, and the metal roofing but for the most part it was recycled materials.
When I started it the weather was 65 and sunny. Since it has been snowy, cold, and rainy. April 1st tomorrow and they are predicting 3-6" here in NEPA. Oh well.
I did finish the structure for my new girls, 7 plymouth rock hens and 1 cockreel. This is my first time owning chickens but my interest has always been there.
With a little help from "Raising Chickens for Dummies" and a lot of inspiration from people on this forum, here is our coop!!!
Please give me alittle feedback, good and bad, I'm still new at this. It houses 8 chickens, 3 nesting boxes and multiple roosts. The overall structure is 4'w x 6'l x 5'h and 3' off the ground. The run is aproximately 10' lg.

This is a picture of the framing after our first snow fall.

84767_100_3720.jpg

Here's a picture of the girls just introduced into their new home.

84767_100_3757.jpg

Coop with the new metal roof installed! I like the look!

84767_100_3789.jpg

Few more pictures.

84767_100_3783.jpg

84767_100_3800.jpg

The run is still a work in progress, but the girls seem happy.

Last edited:
That looks good to me, but im a noob to this stuff as well. Im curious about your 7 hens and only 3 nest box's. Will they share? Id love to use just 6-8 boxes for my ~10 hens. Im hoping to make a decent, yet portable/forklift-able unit, as i am building a people house some miles from here, so all must move there some day. I have 5 "pullets" from TSC and 8 birds that were non-sexed so who knows what ill end up with in the months ahead. Good luck with yours. Yes, the winter has been a "damper" for sure.
P-

That looks great rkane, Nice Job! I have no experience with chickens yet, but I am a carpenter. Thanks for the pics