My HEN keeps HONKING!??

Tarina-Rose

In the Brooder
Jul 8, 2015
My three hens are about 16/17 weeks old, I have been woken up by an extremely loud honk the last few mornings. It is unlike any sound I have heard a chicken make, the sound usually lasts for about three seconds and it is quite like a goose/air horn; she does this every 20-30 seconds. I am new to raising chickens so any insight can help!
Thankyou :)

Mine will do that when they pick up a slight respiratory problem, usually in the fall, it runs it's course, but sometimes the honking hen gets picked on, certainly watch for any wheezing or trouble breathing, or any sign it's getting worse, it's a chicken version of a cough.

Howdy Tarina-Rose; Welcome to BYC
frow.gif

First question would be, are you positive she is a she and you are not hearing crowing attempts?
Second question, what breed?

I had a Silkie hen [RIP sweet Tina] who did pitch perfect peacock impressions.

I now have 2 x 5 month old Silkie X’s who sound more like ducks than chickens.

I also have a Bantam Cochin who will voice her dissatisfaction that breakfast is 2 minutes late and if it does not arrive promptly, will crow!

Dusty, a Bantam Langshan and the whinger of the flock, had a particularly bad morning and was whinging significantly more than usual; that afternoon she had ‘lost her voice’ and was hoarse.

I freaked out, thinking she may have picked up a respiratory disease or was unwell, but she got her voice back.

https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/979074/can-a-chicken-lose-her-voice

All of my girls make some very strange noises prior to laying an egg, I call it their ‘gunna lay egg’ song and this is followed by the ‘I laid egg’ song. The ‘gunna lay egg’ song normally goes a lot longer than the ‘I laid egg’ song to the point that one of my girls is nicknamed Nike … Just Do It!