My Poor lil duck

Aunt Jo

In the Brooder
Sep 11, 2018
So, I am fairly new to Ducks.. started a lil more than a year ago now. I have two Pekin ducks, come from the same farm.. a male and a female. This summer she started to nest.. and then to sit.. the first few times.. I shewed her and collected the eggs anyway.. but I let it go once.. with about 10 eggs.....

Weeks gone by.. I lost one here and there. I would go into their yard and one would be open and need cleaned up.... Towards the end, This was how I knew I was going to have a baby duckling or two.. there was two times that the egg was broken and an almost ready duckling was dead. Towards time for them all to be hatching..
On a Family celebration one hot summer day.. I went out that morning.. and watered and checked.. then went to celebration..literally across the yard. I came back for late afternoon watering and such.. and hit the edge of the yard.. ad the worst smell of rotten eggs hit me... ( my fist experience there and sheeeeew, did not smell that way that morning)
I spoke with an uncle and he told me that.. those two times I found the almost" ready broken eggs.. that the drake had killed them.. that they will do this. That the rest of them were most likely rotten. I cleaned out the pen and box and freshened it all up and was a tad sad.. out of all of those I may have had three ducklings.. but nature intervened.