My Small Scale Coop Build

Burritoboi5

In the Brooder
8 Years
Dec 14, 2011
Hey all, I'm relatively new to the chicken game. I started out about three months ago building a small 4x4 coop from some surplus lumber I had around the house and finishing it in vinyl siding. Unfortunately it can only house about three or four birds and since the rest of my family has taken a liking to them we need a bigger coop. Here's a picture of my first coop that's located in our dog's 9x9x6 kennel.

IMG_20111018_143855.jpg

I have three birds now and would like around 6-8 ideally.

The new coop, is also being built much closer to our house for easier access during the winter. As such though, it has to look a bit better than my first budget coop. The layout for this one is 7x4x3.5 plus the height of the roof. And I'm building it to be a somewhat scale replica of my real house. I'm not sure about including one room of the house though on the back of the coop just for ease of construction. It will however have 3 nesting boxes and plenty of room for 6 chickens to roost.

I sunk the posts in yesterday and got the frame all leveled out.

IMG_20111213_155625.jpg

Then added floor joists and covered it in 1/2in ply. Everything else so far has been treated 2x4s.

Today I got some of the uprights framed in as well as the nesting box area skinned.

IMG_20111214_153552.jpg

Here's one of the neat things I'm doing......

Functioning garage doors to access the nesting boxes, it will be operated with a pulley eventually. But really simple design just runs vertically up a track on the inside of the coop. Here's an open door picture.

IMG_20111214_153618.jpg