Narragansett and Standard Bronze Questions

FlyOverZone

In the Brooder
6 Years
Jun 29, 2013
I don't have them yet, but I want to be prepared.

Turkey Chick Brooder Temps.

I have chickens and ducks and know there is quite a difference in temp needs between them. What temperatures, and how long do Turkeys need to be in a temperature controlled environment?

Narragansetts Roost. How high is too high for a roosting spot. I have plans for 5 feet off the ground. I'm thinking S Bronzes don't roost, but are like the ducks I have just sleep on the ground. Do I have that wrong?

Is there anything I should know about free ranging Narragansetts, Orpingtons, Easter Eggers and Pekins together?

I'm really new at this so basic breed information will be greatly appreciated.

Standard bronze and narragansett are basically the same type just different colors.

I have roosts at 2 feet and 4 feet. But my birds will use them when they want. But love to roost on top of their 6 foot pen. Sometimes if they take a notion will roost 30 feet up a tree.

Brooder temps 90 to 95 fir 1st week the reduce 5 degrees a week.

I have brooded chickens and turkeys together no problem.

I free range birds when not laying with my chickens. So far I have been fortunate and have no problems or disease crossover.

I like to keep my birds if possible brooded for 6 to 8 weeks.

What I was told one time and found to be true is.
"A cold wet poult is a dead poult".

My luck is if I can get them to about 4 minths old they are hearty and will survive. The first 2 to 3 months they seem to find a way to die.

Turkeys are a blast. But definitely can be frustrating at times. Enjoy what ever variety you get.

You'll love them! Go to Porters Heritage turkeys site. FULL of great info on the heritage breeds. Don't forget they do fly!