Need help with Ring Neck Dove.

SelenasIceCastle

Hatching
Feb 21, 2019
I was left with one ring neck dove after someone passed away. I have no experience with them. He has not been DNA sexed but due to not laying eggs I’m assuming it’s male. Plus his behavior indicates male.

I have read that they should be kept in pairs? I don’t know if he’s ever had a friend or not. I just know that they bought him from a pet store from a cage that had 3 doves in it but they had just been sold so only him left.

He seems very lonely perhaps. He coos All...Day...Long!!! Relentlessly! He occasionally laughs as well. He is not hand tamed but loves vocal attention. Is there any hope of him becoming hand tamed now that he is an adult? He seems very nervous about physical contact. Also, can you keep 2 males together? I’m having trouble finding another dove but the few I’ve found have been male. Do they mix well with other type of birds in general or no? Could getting him a friend quiet him down? Sorry this was long and sooo many questions lol Thanks for any help!! I’m totally lost on what to do for this little guy! :barnie

I have read that they should be kept in pairs? While preferable a single dove can be kept alone especially with human interaction. I don’t know if he’s ever had a friend or not. I just know that they bought him from a pet store from a cage that had 3 doves in it but they had just been sold so only him left.