New Chicken Mom with Questions & Problems

Malpower

Songster
11 Years
Jan 12, 2009
Kentfield, California
I'm new at chickens (always had Malamutes until my last one died in February) -- I adopted two pullets, survivors of a raccoon massacre next door 2 months ago where chicks were not being well taken care of and locked in at night. My two girls are now about 5-1/2 months, New Hampshire Reds. We built a small but secure coop with concrete floor and they have been quite safe at night. I let them free-range during day in my yard -- lots of trees, bushes and shrubs and I never thought about hawks. Well, yesterday I found one of the girls dead and headless and believe it was a redtail hawk I saw flying away. Needlesstosay, I'm simply crushed, so sad. I love those little hens! I found the other girl hidden behind some flower pots and she was fine -- tho she's not anxious to come off her roost and out of the coop today and probably is traumatized (doesn't look like she's pooped at all since yesterday) -- I'm not anxious to let her out of the coop until I can figure out what to do to keep her safe out in the yard without me as a bodyguard. I'm also trying to figure out how to build a portable run of some sort or drape netting around areas of the yard so she can range through the bushes as usual, take her dust baths and so forth. I guess I should save questions of hawk protection and building runs for another forum -- so my question for this one is about adding hens: I have a small coop (about 3.5 x 4 by 4 tall at center with one 4 foot long roost at top, a small outside wire cage attached) about how many hens would get on comfortably in this space? I was thinking of trying to find 1 or 2 new hens, someone said why not get 3 for a max of 4 perhaps. I have two nesting boxes on the floor of the coop (neither of the girls had started laying yet). I am assuming that the one hen probably needs companionship, being an only chicken isn't much fun -- is this correct? This leads to