New coop built & used for 24 hours now! DLM - with Leaves?

Jenn1399

Songster
12 Years
Mar 29, 2011
Raleigh, NC
I want to start by saying that I am VERY new to this! Got a book from the library (City Chicks), retro-fitted a coop type thing in the back yard & then got some laying hens & brought them home last night!
clap.gif

Here is one of my 7 birds. I think an EE, since she seems to have a butt? Though - she does in this picture, but when I look at her in person (or is that "in chicken"?), i don't think she does have a butt??
2011-04-08017.jpg

Their coop has a dirt floor. Will the deep litter method work - using dried yard leaves as the litter??
The coop:
2011-04-08026.jpg

2011-04-03coop001.jpg

2011-04-08023.jpg

Here, you can see my very excited son, Everett with the new hens. But, behind him you can see the dirt floor. This was last night. Today, I decided to add leaves, so they could forage a bit - I feel awful they need to be locked in here for 4-5 days to get used to the space! I want them to run around now!
gig.gif

The ladies LOVED the leaves in there! They were diggin all about & were thrilled to have the leaves!

Is there a chance that the DLM will work with leaves?
fl.gif

Next question (you didn't expect just one, right?)

So, the cage thingy I already had in the yard was divided into 2 thirds on the right side & one third on the left. I built a small "hen house" in the left side, accessed by a ramp from the right. My intention was to lock them in the tiny hen house for nighttime. Well, they don't want to go in there! They'll go in if I put them there & stay & hang out for a bit, but they'll walk back down the ramp before I collect all the ladies. I really was just worried that some ravenous animal would scare the bajezus out of the hens in the big open part & I wanted them to have a safe spot. We regularly have fox, deer, armadillo in the yard... & that's what I see.....

2011-04-03coop005.jpg