New coop help

dandan111

In the Brooder
6 Years
Aug 25, 2013
https://www.backyardchickens.com/g/a/6547014/default/

I have been building a coop and its been a bigger job than I had thought. I have been using all scrap wood mostly so its been a ugly construction. I'm trying to post a picture so you guys can take a look. If I need to make changes please give me a heads up. I plan to have 3 to 4 hens. Red stars.

Thanks,

Dandan

So far so good,I guess.Red was a good color to choose.You will run in to problems,I did.Let me know how your chickens like it.What breed do you have?

Dart,

I asked my wife to buy me some paint and she came back with a gallon of red...
So my projects will be red for awhile I guess!

I plan to buy red star hens. A guy here in town has 100 birds all starting to lay.

Another question-
Should I feed and water in the house or down outside on the ground? I'm new to this so I want to try and set it up right.
And will it be fine to put the roost bar at the front of the house since its the taller area? I plan to put a window in the door that can be opened or closed. When the window is open the birds will be right in front of it on the roost bar.

Thanks everyone.

I think it looks pretty cute so far. How big is it? It looks a bit small if that is the only area you are going to have. Unless of course if you are planning to have them free range. Rule of thumb. 10 square foot per chicken for enclosed outside space.
I put food and water outside. I don't provide any food or water in the coop itself. They only use it at night and to lay their eggs. I'm new to chickens too, so that might be wrong. Who knows. But they seem happy so it must be okay..... :)