New flock not getting along

crissy1079

Songster
8 Years
Oct 8, 2015
I'm new to chickens and went to a chicken swap meet and bought 4 young female silkies 1 Plymouth Rock hen and another grey same size as Plymouth young hen. Well the Plymouth picks on all the silkies, so the silkies hide all day and the larger 2 hens are always out walking around the coop. When I let them free range with supervision they stay away from each other and all are fine. I asked the people I bought them from and they said they should all be able to live together. I just don't think it's a very nice life for the silkies to hide all day. I'm not sure if they get to eat or drink. So I've been locking up the 2 larger hens in the hutch I have in the coop for a few hours a day when I don't have time to watch them free range. Then the silkies are all out eating and walking in the coop. It's only been a week and all are new to the coop I got them all the same day. Should I look into rehoming the Plymouth?

welcome-byc.gif
Big chickens pick on smaller or weaker chickens. Chicken society is frequently cruel. As long as they are not drawing blood, allow them to work things out. Provide feed and water in several locations to assure that the silkies are getting enough to eat. Given enough time, they may work things out.

I would give it more time. The Plymouth rock is wanting to be the dominant hen. They will all figure it out. They need to establish a pecking order first. As long as their is no blood shed they sound like they will be fine.
I just introduce two young pullets to my flock of nine spoiled hens and a rooster.
My two new birds are still not part of the flock but the other hens now tolerate them.
You can keep separating them but it is only dragging out the process of having them as one flock.

Hope this helped!