Newbie here from Western Pa.

Redwolf141

Chirping
Feb 15, 2016
Johnstown Pa
Hello everyone my name is Tom and I am very new to raising chickens. I have been lurking here and reading what I can to learn. I am only looking at getting 4 or 5 chickens for my granddaughter and I to raise. One question I have is chicks or older hens to start out with? Also what breed ,I have two in mind but would like opinions. I look forward to learning from and getting to know everyone. Also need a good place to buy chicks or layers. Thanks in advance for any advice offered.

Hi Tom,
welcome-byc.gif

If you haven't already looked it over, the Learning Center is a great place to start learning about keeping chickens.
https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center

Whether you start with chicks or point of lay girls is a personal choice. It's fun to watch the little chicks grow but it does take longer of course waiting for them to lay. And if you order chicks from an online hatchery, you're most likely looking at a minimum order of 15-25 (there are a few exceptions to that). Of course, you can often buy chicks at your local feed store and get the number you want but you may be limited by breed. As you can see, lots of decisions...you'll have to decide what's best for your situation.

For breeds, there are so many, it depends on why you want chickens. Do you want egg layers or tame little lap chickens or some kind of rare, exotic chickens? Again, lots of options.

Let us know how we can help!

Thanks NorthFlchick, we want egglayers. I am looking at Orpington or Auspralorps. I am hoping I can go to Myers poultry and pick up just 4 or 5 chicks or hens, I am only 20 minutes from myers and I heard they are pretty reputable poultry dealer.

Thanks NorthFlchick, we want egglayers. I am looking at Orpington or Auspralorps. I am hoping I can go to Myers poultry and pick up just 4 or 5 chicks or hens, I am only 20 minutes from myers and I heard they are pretty reputable poultry dealer.