Newbie here....

killerl0bster

In the Brooder
Apr 2, 2024
Hi all,

I'm new here and new to chickens... we just brought our first 10 chicks home yesterday afternoon. We've got golden Wyandottes, Buckeyes, Golden Comets, and black and gold sex links to start out. So far they're doing well, and the dogs and kids are all enthralled. We're in southern Colorado, and the property hosts 2 adults, 2 kids (ages 9 and 11), 2 dogs, and currently 7 Tibetan yaks in addition to our new dinosaur flock. The property came to us with a chicken run, but the coop was a total loss from neglect, so we're working out exactly what we want to build in the next month or so while the chicks are still indoors with us.

We do have an honorary grandmother who is a chicken master, and she's the one who recommended BYC as a great resource, so here I am.

Hi!

Hello, and welcome to BYC. Build rapidly - they will rapidly outgrow your house.
We're planning on it! We're experienced builders & renovators in general, so the actual construction isn't a big hurdle for us. We just have realized that we're not going to be happy with the quality and function of the pre-fab options available to us (especially at their price points!) and so are now putting together our plans for our own build. I expect we'll have that sorted out by the end of this weekend and will buy supplies by early next week.

Also worth noting that we have several non-house options we can move them into if really needed before the coop is ready, though obviously an actual coop would be best. But there's the 3-car garage, the feed/garden "shed" (actually a two stall barn that's been modified), the old 8-stall sheep barn after some weatherproofing, or any portion of the 70'x150' pole barn workshop building. :lol: