Newbie Question - Day 20 Incbubation

SamCox

In the Brooder
Aug 13, 2015
Victoria, Australia
Hey, Its now day 20 of incubation (started at 1'oclock). How long should it be until they make there first pip in the shell? I have seen no pips yet just the eggs rocking. And how long should it take from pip to hatch?

I candled all my eggs on day 18 all where developed and I could see movement in some of the eggs, But they still haven't pipped!

Please answer my questions as I'm new to hatching - Thanks

Congrats! Rocking is a good sign! What happens is the chicks pip internally into the air sac. When the oxygen in the sac is depleted, the chicks muscles will spasm due to the breathing of CO2. This causes the chicks beak to poke through the egg shell causing the external pip.
You should expect a pop very soon! Just remember that a watched pot never boils and a watched egg never hatches. :)

Does anyone know how long from the rocking to a pip? They rocked over 24 hours ago on day 17 and were rocking last night before bed. Then today nothing. Did they die? Or maybe resting? Thanks

Congrats! Rocking is a good sign! What happens is the chicks pip internally into the air sac. When the oxygen in the sac is depleted, the chicks muscles will spasm due to the breathing of CO2. This causes the chicks beak to poke through the egg shell causing the external pip.
You should expect a pop very soon! Just remember that a watched pot never boils and a watched egg never hatches.
smile.png

Thanks its now 6:30 in the morning and I haven't seen any pips yet. So hopefully soon :) I picked up my new fertile eggs yesterday too! I got 6speckled sussex, 10 light sussex, 4 pekin bantams and 4 pekin frizzles :)

Does anyone know how long from the rocking to a pip? They rocked over 24 hours ago on day 17 and were rocking last night before bed. Then today nothing. Did they die? Or maybe resting? Thanks