Newbie, What is Best Placement For Coop If you Do Not Have Full Shade?

sunnynparadise

Hatching
12 Years
Feb 2, 2007
Northwest
smile.png
[Hello, I am a newbie chicken person...in fact I do not have chickens at all yet but hope to have them shortly after Easter.
What do you recommend for placement of coop, directionally with reference to exposure. I have a house that faces West, and has a slight slope. The side yard runs parallel to the house and is in N/S exposure. The best place to put the coop in terms of space would be in the West side of the yard which is shaded in the AM, and then gets some shade from neighbor's tree. Wondering if I built over hang roof over run, and grew vines over run walls if this would provide enough shade. What are your thoughts and ideas? Thanks!

Depending on where you live, the answer to your problem could vary. I live in Missouri and I get both VERY cold winters and VERY hot summers. I am also just starting out and have very little shade in my yard. My plan of action is to put the coop facing south so that it gets the most sun in the winter. If that's possible for you, that would be your best bet if you live in an area that gets really cold.