Not sure what to do regarding vaccination and adding more chickens

ShadyHillFarm

Songster
6 Years
Feb 26, 2013
NW Georgia
I purchased a chick assortment from a local breeder this past Spring. Their chickens are vaccinated, the chicks are not. We never vaccinated them and other than a failure to thrive chick and one we had to put down due to injury, they're all big and healthy.

My dilemma is, I'd like to purchase some sexed chicks from a major hatchery and I'm not sure whether I should get them vaccinated or not. And since I'm new at this, I'm sure there are factors I might not be considering.

Our chickens are almost completely free-range except for an occasional bit of organic feed if I need to get them in the coop for a reason. They get the some ACV in their water about every other week. Our farm hasn't had any other poultry on it in probably over 70 years, though we have a ton of wild birds. There are no chickens in our immediate area (within at least a 1/2 mile of us). I'm trying to raise them as naturally as I can, in case that matters.

I appreciate the help!

Bump!!
smile.png

I would get them vaccinated for Mareks at the very least. Mareks is endemic in most regions, and many birds are carriers even if they don't present with symptoms. If you get Mareks in your flock, it will be a nightmare and will wipe out your whole flock.

It only costs something like 14 cents a bird to vaccinate. I always get my birds vaccinated when I order them. There is no reason not to.

Remember, if you opt for the cocci vaccine, you have to feed non-medicated chick starter or you'll nullify both the vaccine and the coccidiostat in the feed.

Whether or not to vaccinate is a personal decision, but if you have ever had Marek's in your flock, vaccination is a good idea. Some information to maybe help you make that decision.