Order fertilized eggs?

Ragfrey

Songster
Apr 19, 2023
South Louisiana
Just wow! I am completely new to the chicken game and am extensively reading on building plans/prep for chicken coop in South Louisiana.

I was researching and discovered that one can order fertilized eggs online and put under a broody hen?? What? I guess in theory it should work….just wow.

So then I was thinking, what would be the advantages of getting a broody hen and ordering 8 fertilized eggs to put under her

Vs ordering chicks from a nursery?

Nursery:
- nursery can sex the chicks
- nursery can give different breeds

Broody hen:
- you can watch life begin
- you can watch a joyous momma hen
- momma hen can care for chicks vey young

What do you think? I think a very interesting topic and would love to hear your expert thoughts.

I currently have fertilized eggs arriving today to place under a broody hen for the first time. She’s been sitting on 6 fake eggs in the broody mama area… The benefits of this is I can get more rare breeds/rarer colors that I can’t find locally (in my case they’re purebred white Ameraucanas) especially since the chicks are usually straight run anyways! I already raised a few chicks in a brooder early this spring so it’ll be nice to have a mama hen do the work for me this time!

Hello there 😀

A few things.....

We have ordered a lot of fertilized eggs from both hatcheries and eBay. We have had luck with both. The only catch is the success rate Which we find to be on average about 50%, with sometimes 100% hatching, and sometimes 2 of 12 having been fertilized. You need to be flexible on the amount of chicks you'd like.