Ordering different breeds (pullets) online..? Any advice

Jlbern21

In the Brooder
Jun 3, 2015
Berkshire county, Massachusetts
Hoping to order a few different breeds this coming spring for my flock since I have had bad luck at my local TSC with breed and gender (I am a newbie and told them I wanted pullets for eggs and they gave me several meat birds
sad.png
) My question is, does anyone have any advice or experience ordering online and from where? And also, if I order female, is my luck better then that of TSC where I also had a few males in my flock? The shipping I noticed is expensive, but I'd be happy if my chicks were what I wanted and healthy!! (Sorry if this isn't the right forum for this thread, but I couldn't find a good match lol!)

I've had WONDERFUL experience with Meyer Hatchery, as all but 7 of our 41 chickens and ducks came from them. Not only have there been no breed errors, but we've only ended up with one "mistake" roo in the whole flock. The employees are helpful and friendly, Meyer's facility is pristine (we live an hour away and have picked up our chicks before), and the birds are beautiful, healthy, and friendly. I personally think this business is a great option for anyone seeking a good-quality hatchery.
smile.png
Best wishes on your chick search!

-Alex

I've ordered chicks (usually pullet orders) from four different hatcheries multiple times over the years, Murray McMurray Hatchery, Ideal Poultry, Dunlap Hatchery, and Cackle Hatchery, and have been happy with the birds and service of all four of them.

I agree that ordering direct from a hatchery is a much better option than buying from TSC or other feed stores, (which are probably the worse place to buy chicks). I second Meyer hatchery. If you are going to get birds from a large hatchery than Meyers is a good choice. Their birds are of good quality (at least for a hatchery) and their service is good.