Our first broody...shipped eggs started on 8/10. Come & hatch along!

damselfish

Crowing
14 Years
Mar 8, 2008
Southwest Missouri
We are all excited because one of our hens finally went broody! We ordered some hatching eggs and after some minor snafus, we got them and placed them under her today. Come and join me if you're starting eggs around this time!

I'm allowed to hang out here even if I only have a "natural" incubator, right?
hide.gif
smile.png

Well, I'm with you on this one. Just placed my shipped eggs under my broody about to or three hours ago. I'm really fortunate as far as broodies are concerned. These native Thai chickens go broody just at the sight of eggs. Honestly, if I don't go out to collect eggs for two days, you can be rest assured a hen will be sitting on them.......lol. Even when you take all the eggs away from her, she'll just sit and wait for the others to come and lay in her nest box. Ah well, this is my first attempt at hatching eggs, and if any hatch after their 9000+ kilometer trip, I'll more than likely be the only person in Thailand with Light Sussex birds...lol.

By the way, good luck - I sure hope we both have a happy story to tell in three weeks time
lol.png

HI,
My eggs came this morning.2 dozen.three very broody hens.................
I'm in. Will write more later...................need to unwrap eggs:D

Quote:
Good luck.....keep us informed
big_smile.png

I now have a sexually confused teenage rooster in the nest with Miss Broody........................whenever mom-to-be leaves the nest to eat or poop, her little toyboy takes her place on the eggs until she returns - strangest thing I've ever seen
lol.png

I have three broody hens... I swear except for mid winter I rarely get under five.

Hen 10 ( a near constant brooder, sat three months raised the final hatch is sitting again) is sitting on three EE eggs.

Hen 14 is a first timr brooder so she's getting a light bulb until I figure what to risk on her.