Pigeon problem }Need help{

HeelerDawg

Songster
13 Years
Dec 23, 2008
Southeastern,Kentucky
I recently purchased,what was supposed to be a pair of roller pigeons but really turned out to be two females. The real problem is that one of them seems to have gone weak in the legs. She was perfectly fine for the first few days. She walked around normally just like the other one but now she takes really short steps and uses her wings to balance herself. Then, when she gets where she is going, she just lays down. My dad and I both, have had lots of experience in various breeds of livestock but this is our first venture into the pigeon world. Our best guess is that she may be vitamin deficient since her legs are just weak but not broken. I would really appreciate some advice from someone who has had alot of experience with pigeons. Thanks in advance.

I will start by saying that I have no experience with pigeons other than hand raising doves on occasion. I did have a similar problem with my coturnix though.
I remembered from raising my ducklings that sometimes they can get wing and leg problems from being niacin deficient, so I thought I would give it a shot with my quail. I got 100mg niacin vitamins from the grocery store (get the ones that are just plain niacin) and ground one up with a mortar and pestle (I'm sure you could even use a spoon, they aren't that hard) and mixed with water in a ration of 100mg niacin to 1 gallon of water. (Like many vitamins this is NOT a case of more is better) I don't know if it will help your birds, but it might be worth a shot.

How old are your pigeons? Are they on wire?

ETA: My quail with the leg problems is just fine now, it may just have been a coincidence, but it also could have been the niacin. Good luck!

Last edited:
She could be getting ready to lay an egg. I was told its a calcium deficiency, and to give them tums when they do that.