Processing old hens

crossl6

In the Brooder
Jun 6, 2015
if this has been answered, please direct me. I'm kind of embarrassed to ask, but just can't remember. I've been raising poultry for almost 40 years.
I usually let my old hens live out their life naturally. As I've raised & processed meat birds. However my pantry is getting low
I'm going to cull out my old hens & can the meat. Do I pressure cook them, then pressure can them? Or will the meat be tender enough if I just pressure can them? If that's the case, will raw packing make them tender enough?
FYI, do not even mess with an old rooster, tougher than boot leather

I always just pressure can raw- no need to pressure cook as well. (You don't even have to let rigor pass after butchering as the pressure canning will leave it tender- just butcher, cut meat off the bone and throw right into your canning jars.)

I use 1 tsp salt per pint (I think most use 1/2 tsp) and can fit almost 1lb (~14 oz) of meat into each pint. Just cut into any size chunks, as I find raw packing always leaves the chicken more 'shreddy' like and won't keep its shape as cubes so there is no use in spending time cutting it up nicely. I also usually add about 1TB of water in each pint but most say it isnt necessary.
After the meat is canned I then pressure cook all of my carcasses to make stock and then pressure can the stock as well.

For me, that is the absolute easiest way to get chicken in the pantry.

I always just pressure can raw- no need to pressure cook as well. (You don't even have to let rigor pass after butchering as the pressure canning will leave it tender- just butcher, cut meat off the bone and throw right into your canning jars.)