Quarantine for new birds

PulletSurpriseWinner

In the Brooder
8 Years
Jun 27, 2011
Hi,
as you may know, I'm still pretty new to keeping chickens. I've been through all the books we have about chickens, and there's precious little about how to quarantine new birds. They all don't recommend it, and offer token advice for those of us who "insist".

We "broke the rules" and brought home a Speckled Sussex and a banty mix pullets. We felt bad for them, and they were sweet, so we bought 'em.

They're in a quarantine pen. They've been dusted with Sevin, along with their litter. They receive grower ration, and we've been offering them fruit and veggies. There are apparently no worms in their droppings.

We disinfect after handling either set of birds, or their things.

We know they need quarantine for a month. What else should we be doing? Do they need supplements, meds, or anything else?

Anyone who knows, please advise. We don't want to make our current hens, OR the newbies, ill!

Last edited:
sound like you have it covered. I would not medicate unless the newbies have symptoms. If they appear healthy through the thirty days then you have done what is humanly possible to protect your flock. The only other thing you could possibly do is have blood work done on the birds. That sounds like over kill to me though.

I'd give them a round of Sulmet for 3 days. This would take care of any cocci they might carry.

You might have to do this again once they are integrated with the other birds. If so, it need(ed) to be a month apart on the Sulmet; that's why when I bring birds home (seldom anymore) that I do the Sulmet first.

I always give them Ivermectin as well (broad spectrum wormer); whether I see anything or not.

Check and make sure they don't have scaly mites.

Quote:
THANK YOU. I'll follow your advice, and will post pics and updates of Pippa and Peewee.

Where is the best place to look for Sulmet and Invermectin?