Questions about a few breeds and where to get them

Woozymitts

Chirping
May 14, 2020
Wisconsin
Hey guys! I’m totally new to chickens and thinking about possibly getting some either this year or next spring, but I was wondering about breeds and where to get them. I wasn't sure whether to post this here or in the area about breeders but I hope it's okay here. The breeds I'm considering are:
  • Barbu d’Anvers
  • Barnevelder
  • Buckeye
  • Chantecler
  • Dominique
  • Russian Orloff
  • Wyandotte
The problem is I have no idea how to go about finding a reputable breeder. When it comes to dog breeders that’s easy, lots of people have websites with information on their dogs, health test results, etc but I have no idea what to look for in a chicken breeder.

I’m looking for a breeder that prioritizes the health and temperament of their birds, I don’t care about egg production or meat quality, I just want happy, healthy pets.

As for the breeds I’ve listed, which ones do you think would be best for me? I live in Wisconsin and have a limit of five hens maximum, but I would prefer to get three so I’m not so overwhelmed and I can focus on getting to know them each individually.

So I’d need birds that do well in a small-ish yard, can tolerate our cold winters and gross, humid summers, and are healthy and friendly. So for those of you who’ve owned the above breeds, what were they like? Temperament, lifespan, etc?

Feel free to suggest other breeds that might work for me but nothing prone to health issues, so no vaulted skulls, weird feathers, etc. I’m not a fan of feathered feet and I don’t want birds with no tails or neck feathers.

Thanks! ❤