Questions with a broody goose

Adamjason1

Hatching
Apr 23, 2023
Hey everyone!

I'm somewhat new to broody geese and I have some questions and would love input from anyone who knows more than me. I got a breeding pair of Chinese geese (who raised a flock of golsing they hatched last year) and this is their second year with eggs. They just started laying. I took the first egg because I've heard it's not usually firtle. She now has 2 eggs and I found her sitting near them tonight. They weren't under her and warm but more next to her. Is she already trying to hatch the eggs? Or could she be guarding them? Or anything else?
Thanks for anyone's time:) (also I'm in michigan if that helps)

Mine will sometimes sit on eggs for a few hours but aren't serious until they feather the nest.

My guess is she laid them wherever she was. Or they got kicked around. I have seen my girls gather up randomly laid duck eggs with no intention of sitting on them.

Day 18 here of the feathered nest with very a dedicated sitter.

Hi! I raise geese and wouldn't assume that the first egg of the season is infertile, especially with mature birds. Did you open it to see if it was fertile?

It's possible she may be going broody - a broody will leave the eggs periodically to let them cool, and that may be what she was doing when you found her.

Hey everyone!

I'm somewhat new to broody geese and I have some questions and would love input from anyone who knows more than me. I got a breeding pair of Chinese geese (who raised a flock of golsing they hatched last year) and this is their second year with eggs. They just started laying. I took the first egg because I've heard it's not usually firtle. She now has 2 eggs and I found her sitting near them tonight. They weren't under her and warm but more next to her. Is she already trying to hatch the eggs? Or could she be guarding them? Or anything else?
Thanks for anyone's time:) (also I'm in michigan if that helps)