Red Pullets

plucker

In the Brooder
8 Years
Mar 30, 2011
Middle TN
Newbie here thinking of trying some chickens.

The Tractor Supply store is selling chicks and suggested I try "Red Pullets." Can't really find info on this breed anywhere. Is it a hybrid? Are they a good starter hen and good layer?

Okay - read a few other "red" posts and I guess I should add, should I not buy from TSC? Can I ensure the correct "breed" by color?

Any help is appreciated

Last edited:
They probably mean "Red Sex Links", which can be sexed by color as chicks. My TSC has had a lot of them this year.
Pullet refers to female chickens under a year old.

Sex Links are a hybrid and are known to be good layers.

Good luck!

Red is probably a rhode island red or red sex link, and a pullet is a female chicken under a year old. I am sure they would be great layers.
welcome-byc.gif

Thanks. I figured out the pullet part pretty quickly but the "red" was a bit confusing. Figured it meant either a hybrid or a "get whatever you get" red breed.

Thanks again for helping out a totally ignorant rookie.

A Red pullet is most likely a Rhode Island Red or Red Sex-link pullet. Pullet is not a breed, but rather the name of a very young hen. It is possible to guess the breed of a particular chick if you have a photo guide of what the different breeds look like when first hatched. This is, however, not a guarantee, since a large majority of breeds are born buff yellow, and change as they mature into their true feathers. Aside from sex-linked breeds, it is almost impossible to identify male vs female with 100% accuracy with new born chicks. Chicks labeled pullets that do not have any true feathers yet are only about 75-80% likely to be female.