Red ranger

Clmirabilio92

Songster
5 Years
Mar 27, 2019
I got my red ranger meat chickens by accident in a batch of golden Comets from tractor supply, a little over a year ago. My big rooster is over a year old now and I can already tell that his walking and running has been different. And the joints of his legs are more red now. His legs and feet are bigger than any other roosters. My question is, how long is their life expectancy? Is it cruel to let him live over a year old?? I'm sure his body is taking a beating being so big. I just felt like he had so much life to live and he's been a great protector for my flocks. Thanks.

Attachments

• 20230428_195736.jpg
    20230428_195736.jpg
    228.5 KB · Views: 41
I’m no expert by any means, but I’ve heard that redness in the feet/legs could be an increase of hormones in roosters. I noticed this in my Rhode Island rooster at 6 months.

I also think the huge feet is a good thing. More support for all the weight.

Handsome boy. Do you have any other pics of him and his legs? He doesn't look like a typical Red Ranger, nor does he look excessively large compared to the hens he's roosting with. As long as he's getting around good I can't see why it would be cruel to keep him.

Handsome boy. Do you have any other pics of him and his legs? He doesn't look like a typical Red Ranger, nor does he look excessively large compared to the hens he's roosting with. As long as he's getting around good I can't see why it would be cruel to keep him.
Yes! I will get a good body pic of him. He's definitely a heavy guy 😂. I know the red on the legs is normal in roos. But they are almost grayish and red sometimes. I didn't know if the circulation to his feet wasn't good or something. I worry about him alot lol. Maybe he's a red ranger cross?? I just know he always grew twice as fast as a chick when I got him and that's what I was told he was after the fact. 😊 he's still a fast guy, but he almost hobbles around a little bit now.

Attachments