Rooster w/ Black wattles

ellisacresfarmtn

In the Brooder
Dec 9, 2023
I have a rooster who needs help.

I was gone on a trip these past two days, and when I came back I found one of my younger roosters on the perch in the coop. His earlobes and one of his wattles is a deep, dark purple - almost black. His other wattle is shrunken while the black one is swollen and leaking a brown, foul smelling liquid. When I say foul, I mean that I have been raising chickens for 13 years and don't have a weak stomach, but this made me gag. One of his eyes is swollen shut but his face doesn't look or feel extremely swollen. My first thought was avian influenza, but I am now more convinced it could be a spider bite. It looks like there is a small puncture would on the swollen wattle and a layer of skin on the wattle is peeling off. Nothing else is swollen or has any signs of cyanosis. The only other thing I noticed was inside his mouth his saliva is sticky and he acts like he's a little out of it and is having some trouble breathing. He hasn't coughed or sneezed but he is very reluctant to eat and drink. I don't have a picture, but hopefully my description can suffice for now. I left him alone in a dark room separate from the flock and don't want to stress him out too much. He isn't the most docile roo I have, and even though he is under the weather he still tries to avoid me.

Am I right in my assumption that it's a spider bite. I have around 200 birds and no one else is showing any signs. I'm stressing out here. If you have lots of birds like me you'll know how I feel; one sick bird could mean all of them.

Edited to add: The coop he's in used to be infested with brown recluse, now that I think about it. If he WAS bit by one, is there any saving him?

Last edited: