Shipped eggs and my own eggs

Pipe Dreaming

Songster
8 Years
Aug 12, 2014
Montrose, MI.
I'm getting shipped eggs and planned on incubating them along with my own eggs I'll be collecting.
Is this a bad idea? I know it may depend on the condition of the eggs/air cells to see how I need to treat them.
I have a hovabator with an auto turner, and I'm anticipating not getting to use the Turner.
Looking for people's experiences of incubating local eggs with shipped eggs.
Oh.. and this is my first time ever trying shipped eggs! I'm sure I'll have more questions once my eggs arrive.
Thanks in advance!!

Last edited:
Maybe look into getting 2 incubators (Im an enabler lol)

Why didn't I think of that! Lol.. I talked myself into it and ordered one.
I justified it since I've been working like a dang dog lately and been getting so much OT. (I can justify about anything when it comes to chickens!)
I have a problem.. lol

I will keep an eye here because im in the same boat. My eggs got shipped on thursday morning And are now waiting for a 2 hour flight. But because they are a spcial breed im not putting any of my eggs with them.

If you do i dont thinks theres going to be a problem. Are they the same kind of you shipping and fo your eggs?

The shipped eggs are BCM'S. The eggs from my own hens will be BCM'S, EE's and OE'S (all covered by BCM roosters)
I have had good luck using dividers at lockdown, keeping chicks separate for different breeds/crosses.

Last edited:
I dont see where there would be an issue with mixing the eggs as long as you can keep them separate from your own eggs. Ive mixed hatched before and never had a problem but when in doubt, opt to be safe. Maybe look into getting 2 incubators (Im an enabler lol)