Silkies can't or won't roost?

jodief100

Songster
9 Years
Apr 21, 2010
N Kentucky/Cincinnati
I have lots of experience with chickens but only production breeds. I have never had “decorative breeds” before so I know nothing about these SIlkies I bought. They have me confused. I put them in a dog crate to keep them isolated for awhile. At the back of the crate I put a roost about 22” off the floor and a dropping board under it at about 16” off the floor. I put a plastic pan under the board to use as a nest.

They won’t use the roost. Are they not able to get that high or do they not want to use it? I even put them up there and they stayed for awhile and then hopped down after about 15 minutes.

Should I make a ladder?

Here is a picture, you can see the board and a little bit of the roost above them.

1751_silkies.jpg

Oh, and how do I tell the roos from the hens? Without combs and wattles I am lost here.

Last edited:
My silkies do roost (it's appx. 18-20 inches high, and does have a ramp going up to it in case it's needed). I've had mine since chickhood, so that's what they learned (had them in with a d'uccle, which roosted). If your birds are fairly new, that might be part of the problem. Or if you got your birds later, and they were already use to piling, then roosts will be totally new to them. I don't like the piling, because they're sleeping on poo.
Silkies are hard to sex. In general, thicker legs, streamers, body carriage can give you an indication of male vs. female. Why don't you post pics of each bird in the "Breed/Gender" section so people might be able to help you.

Mine aren't big fans of roosting but they're learning. Right now they pile on top of their feed can (approx. 24" high). And sexing is very hard with these guys. I've always been told to wait for crowing to find out who is who.

25976_p120111_1553.jpg