So I got our first chick... unplanned... with two clubbed feet.

mp5girl

Songster
7 Years
Aug 8, 2013
OK So I am the biggest sucker. A store I frequent for produce brought in baby chicks last week. I had been talking to them for several months about chickens and ducks with plans to start my flock after Easter, talking about feed, about breeds, pros and cons. Well today, while getting some potatoes, they asked if I'd be interested in 'trying' a baby chick because they had one with two clubbed feet because the poor thing got stuck in its egg. So it was all by itself (so the others wouldn't kill it) and there was no charge for it , it'd likely become a cat or snake meal otherwise, AND I can bring the little guy back if it's too much.

So I have a baby disabled chick on my dining room table right now. LOL

My questions are:

I read clubbed feet can be corrected if caught early enough. This little guy is JUST getting in it's feathers... it's not too old right? I can put some corrective things on it's feet still?

Are chicks ok alone? Or did I just get double suckered because they need other chick friends?

I don't know why I do these things to myself. ;)

I have a Brahma hen with webbed feet, and a Silkie hen with wonky toes also. Both of them get along just fine with the rest of my flock. I'm a sucker for the underdog too!
jumpy.gif
I have helped several chicks out that have foot issues. Take some tape and make a flat surface for it if you can. Make it sort of like a duck foot for it. This may help. Post pics of the foot and we can probably give you a better idea of what's going on. If not, and the chick is able to get around, get it a friend and enjoy your new buddy.
D.gif

Thank you! I'll get a couple pictures. I've been massaging them. They seem reparable. :)

Chickens are social animals and shouldn't be alone. Three is a recommended number so that if one dies, you won't have one left alone.