Someone is opening the gate on my chicken run/yard

BreeShu

Songster
5 Years
Jun 10, 2018
I live in the city (technically the city limit ends across the street from me) and I openly discussed with my neighbors before and during the process of setting up for chickens. All of my neighbors have been very welcoming of my chickens presence. So I'm not sure if the intent is malicious or out of curiosity but someone has been opening the gate to my fenced in run while I'm at work. While I'm not technically in city limits I know my ordnance still doesn't allow them to free roam unattended as well as there are occasionally loose dogs and aerial predators. My home is a rental so I can't make drastic changes that would allow me to bolt the gate down and lock it. I'm not sure what to do to keep my chickens safe.

Edit* Pictures and update!

My gate was open again when I came home. One of my hens locked inside the coop, this makes the second time I've come home to one being shut in who knows how long. My access to the nesting box was also unlocked. I noticed my egg yeilds had gone down but my girls have only been laying for a short while. Didn't consider that I might have a thief.

I've driven another post in close to the garage and switched out for a wire fence that has a door I can put a lock on. Its flimsy compared to the cattle panel but will make a lot of noise and crash if someone tries to force their way in.

Attachments

• 20210819_200817.jpg
    20210819_200817.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 26
  • 20210819_200613.jpg
    20210819_200613.jpg
    911 KB · Views: 13
  • 20210819_200554.jpg
    20210819_200554.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 13
Last edited: