Swollen leg, foot to hock blue green colour! Please help!

Fluffy bums

Chirping
Apr 1, 2021
I was horrified to discover my hens leg looking like this today! She is a Brahma so I couldn't see through the feathers to have noticed it!(
She is a big heavy girl, she still has her appetite and can even run on it, although I had noticed she'd been slower than usual. I was looking at her wondering why she didn't just run for that grub that I offered her and I've thought that she was quiet as our old rooster just died a week ago:( On closer observation when standing she was slightly lifting it. Very slight limp.
Her leg from foot to hock feels hot and is swollen and her skin is blue/green only along the side. No obvious wounds or infected feathers. There is that reddish area though. No single clear site of injury. But it is tricky to tell with all the feathering.
I can see no obvious sign of bumble foot, but I'm no expert~ I've just been scouring the internet for hours to find something that looks similar to her leg!
She is around 3 years old. Roosts on a good sized round wood roost~ same one as always, low to the floor of indoor coop.
I need to know if I'm treating an infection or a break or something else!
Could this be to do with her being overweight!? Her sister is a cross beak and so getting the balance right food wise is challenging. I'm making excuses now.
I've treated her best I can for a more comfortable night... I need a plan for tomorrows treatment.
Any advice much appreciated.
The small black dot on her foot is a spec of dirt.
I tried to get her to sleep in the nesting box this evening but she wasn't having it and got on to the perch!

Attachments

• IMG_20230112_165100.jpg
    IMG_20230112_165100.jpg
    431.1 KB · Views: 61
  • IMG_20230112_165150.jpg
    IMG_20230112_165150.jpg
    389.8 KB · Views: 19
  • IMG_20230112_164923.jpg
    IMG_20230112_164923.jpg
    614.3 KB · Views: 20
Last edited: