Temp.

dmwalker1999

In the Brooder
7 Years
Jul 1, 2012
Hello. I live in south central Oklahoma and we have been having 100 degree weather everyday and I was wondering what ways I can cool down my chickens. Thanks for the help.

Hello,

I also would like an answer to this question. I live just east of OKC and the temp hit 112 yesterday. I currently have my birds completely in the shade and I have a fan running on them to keep air moving. I have three water sources out for 4 birds. But I wondered about doing more.

When it gets very hot like this, I will sometimes hose my horses down with tepid water. I'm not proposing that for the chickens, but I wondered about misting them a bit.

I am very new to keeping Chickens - like two weeks new - so I am anxious to read other answers to this question.