The downside to free range

Chicken Mama15

In the Brooder
Nov 15, 2015
Missouri
I lost two of my new spring checks today one was an Easter egger named Goldie and there was a Barock I hadn't even got a band on her and she looks so much like her sisters that I didn't have a name yet I'm sure predator got Goldie but I couldn't find any marks on the other one they weren't even there anything just goalie had a bite mark it makes me very sad but I'd rather them have free range of the 8 acres and have a happy life then have to keep them caged up
Goldie on a happier day

I am new to chickens just these last two months but already had Maremma Sheepdogs because a pack of coyotes had made a buffet of my rescued feral cats a couple of years ago. I can't tell you how impressed I've been with the instincts of my maremmas with their new duties! I am free ranging (supervised) my 2-3 month old chicks with my 2 year old and 5 mos old maremmas and they have so far chased off two hawks that think I've put these chickens out for their benefit!

Mama:

Have you considered an electric fence? Maybe not to keep the birds in but to keep the varmints out? Some might make it past that, but will pay the price when they try.

Maybe a 2 to 3 acre sanctuary?

I lost two of my new spring checks today one was an Easter egger named Goldie and there was a Barock I hadn't even got a band on her and she looks so much like her sisters that I didn't have a name yet I'm sure predator got Goldie but I couldn't find any marks on the other one they weren't even there anything just goalie had a bite mark it makes me very sad but I'd rather them have free range of the 8 acres and have a happy life then have to keep them caged up
Goldie on a happier day
when I put the chickens to bed I noticed one of the chickens had a bite do any of you know how to take care of chickens with a bite the feathers on her bottom are missing and she has two puncture holes on your side near her rear end help please