They aren't pipping! Am I worried for nothing!?

Orpington2813

In the Brooder
5 Years
Nov 13, 2014
Ok this is my first time hatching eggs and today is day 21! It is 10 o'clock and no pipping so far. I have 12 eggs. I candled them all before "lock down" and they all looked great! Should I be worried? When I put them in 21 days ago I did it in the evening so does that mean they will hatch this evening?

Don't panic :hugs

21 days is just a guide line and not set in stone. First thing did you count the day you set as day 1 or after a full 24 hours of incubation? Have your temps been ok during incubation?

After a full 24 hours and yes the temp has been perfect through out the incubation.
smile.png

I wouldn't worry just yet. Are you sure your thermometer is accurate? Even a degree low can possibly delay the hatch a bit. Even when using a broody - where the conditions are perfect - the hatch doesn't always occur "on time". As Yorkshire said, it's a guideline, not a timetable set in stone.

Do you have full confidence in your thermometer? There are a lot of different things that can affect when an egg actually hatches but temperature is critical. I’m hoping your incubator is just a tad cooler than you think.

Also if it is a still air, where you take the temperature is very important. In a still air the temperature should be 101.5 on top of the eggs. In a forced air the temperature should be 99.5 and the same no matter where you take it. I like forced air.

I’ve had eggs hatch a full two days early, in an incubator with the right temperature and under a broody. Some people have had them two or three days late. Don’t do anything drastic yet but just be patient. It’s a lot easier to say that when mine normally hatch a bit early, when mine are actually on time I’m starting to get concerned. You still have a good chance. Good luck!