Tractor supply or hatchery?

TheFugitivePen

Songster
Sep 14, 2022
Eastern Tennessee
Do experienced chicken keepers prefer to buy chicks through Tractor Supply or hatcheries?

We ordered 7 black Australorp chicks this summer from Mount Healthy Hatchery. We received 8, and all are pullets and wonderful, healthy birds. Our experience was so great that I'd naturally be inclined to order from them again.

But they do charge a $30 shipping fee for shipping fewer than 15 chicks, and there's an understandable shipping minimum of 3 chicks.

Ideally, I like the thought of going to Tractor Supply and having the freedom to choose the individual chicks and possibly choosing only 2 as opposed to 3 (and risk the possibility of receiving 4 -- our run would be maxed out at 12 chickens). However, I have no experience buying chicks from our local TSC.

Is buying from TSC comparable to buying from a good hatchery? Or does the quality of hatchery chicks make up for the additional costs?

Thank you!

My 2 cents, I love cackle hatchery! I'm not at all apposed to tractor supply chicks, after all they are just chicks from a hatchery too they've just made a stressful pitstop at tractor supply lol I believe that in tractor supply stores in different parts of the country they use different suppliers so not everyone's experience will be the same with quality etc

TSC chicks are still hatchery chicks (I think it's Hoovers Meyer?) that have simply been shipped to the store and put in a brooder. My local farm store does the same thing with their own supplier hatchery - I don't think hardly any farm stores use local sources or hatch their own chicks.

I have a similar timeline to you which is that I've ordered online and had good experiences, and recently I wanted just 3 chicks and the season had closed for online ordering so I bought at the feed store.