URGENT - Should I put my chicken down?

chickenmeg1

In the Brooder
Aug 16, 2023
Hi all,

I'm a newbie chicken owner. I have 6 chickens that are now 7 weeks old. A few weeks ago I made a post about one of my chickens that was limping.

Long story short, I ended up taking her to our local vet. They do not specialize in chickens, but we live in a rural area so they have treated chickens before.

Anyway, they offered to do an X-Ray but I didn't do that - she was treated with antibiotics and pain medication, and we gave it a week, a "wait and see" approach. There was no improvement. After that, we (the vet and I) decided to try a splint and come back in a week.

Well, I just came back from that appointment and things are 1000% times worse. Now, she won't bend or move her leg at all. She doesn't really move her toes so there appears to be nerve damage. She also has a fever of 108 degrees. The vet referred me to an exotics vet who I could try seeing, but she seemed to think the best thing to do would be to euthanize her.

Hopefully you all can understand, I am very upset about this and I'm struggling with the decision. Can anything be done at this point? She is eating and drinking normally. She likes to be with the flock, although she is isolated at the moment. I want to know I did all I can for her.

What is wrong with the leg? Is it deformed? Has she always limped? Do you know why she has a fever?

What is wrong with the leg? Is it deformed? Has she always limped? Do you know why she has a fever?
Thanks for your fast response. I appreciate it. The leg is just all crooked. She was limping when she was probably 2-3 weeks old, but I didn't know what to do so I thought maybe it was just a sprain. It kept getting worse.

Before, she walked with the leg sort of going across her body. Now, she won't put weight on it, it's like it's frozen. I don't know why she has a fever, although the hock is swollen. She had antibiotics for a week, and did not have a fever at that time.