What breed should I choose?

ORChick

Songster
12 Years
May 20, 2007
Oregon
I need some advice please. I have a little flock of (originally) 6 chickens - 5 hens and a rooster. Recently both the rooster and one hen were killed by the neighbour's dog (this is being dealt with, and is not a problem now that we know what has happened). I really liked my Silver Spangled Hamburg rooster - he was very handsome, and not unfriendly, though a little stand-offish. So my question is, what kind of rooster would you recommend that I get to replace him? I am not interested in breeding; I just like having a rooster to watch out for the girls - my criteria would be good looks, and a pleasant disposition. I realize that any rooster can "go bad", but is there any breed that is more likely to be friendly? I am planning to get chicks - one boy and maybe 2 more girls - and so will be raising them up from very young. I am very new with this "chicken thing" - my little flock was got as babies early last year. Any advice will be appreciated.

My Black Rooster, either a Giant or Aussie was SO gentle to me, untill I picked up one of his hens. BEST ROOSTER I HAVE EVER OWNED. Another good choice is a Buff Orpington. And I have heard game roosters are a good protector of hens and are nice to the owners, but can be hard on the girls.

I was going to ask the same question. Any bantie breeds that are good? I have limited space. What breeds are good for kids to get involved?

well bantam wise...OEG and cochins are pretty docile. Silkies are also docile. and roosters for kids... I'd say Buff Orp or Black Aussie. again
tongue.png

You don't want me to answer this because I would say get them all.
lau.gif