"What breeds are my cockerels?" said the noob.

stinkysneakers

In the Brooder
5 Years
May 1, 2014
I did My first ever hatch back in August of a wacky assortment of eggs and now that the guys and gals are becoming obvious, it's time to rehome some cockerels before the drama starts. I'm new to the chicken game, so I need your help to figure what breeds these handsome young gents are!

Here's lucky contestant number one, aka, "Jonathan." This early bloomer is a friendly and clever charmer, crowing at barely two months! He sports a large brilliant red single comb, bright yellow legs, and glossy feathers in iridescent greenish purplish black, dark red, rust, and fiery orange. At hatch he looked like a chipmunk, dark red with two cream stripes running from beak to tail.

Meet man number two, aka, "Gabe." Gabe is a charming, treat-loving mystery bird, possibly a mix of two or more breeds. He is pumpkin pie orange all over with darker red, shiny hackle, saddle, and wing feathers. He wears a triple row pea comb and modest wattles well. And he shows off his golden yellow legs and glossy greenish-blackish tail with a proud strut whenever he gets the chance, whether anyone is looking or not!