What can I temporarily sub for chicken feed?

citychicks99

Songster
Aug 20, 2021
Seattle, WA
I'm new to keeping 9 chickens and underestimated how much feed they would need. I thought they had enough to last a week and a half or two weeks over the weekend, but I'm looking at their feed now, and it looks like they might only have enough for two or three days at most. The roads are icy right now so I'm hesitating to leave my house. It should be safer on Christmas Eve. I hope they can last till then. If I run out before that, what can I temporarily feed them for a day or two? The things we have that I think we can feed them are eggs, oatmeal, rice, popcorn kernels, bananas, apples, spinach, dried black beans, lentils, quinoa. Is there a ratio of protein to carbs I should aim for?

Short term, don't worry about ratios. Oatmeal with Wheat germ if you have it, and sun flower seeds, cooked or sprouted lentils, quinoa. Cooked rice to round out carbs. Eggs are good any time.

Avoid uncooked beans and popping corn. Bananas, apples, and spinach will be great for treats. You have it covered, I believe.

Eggs. You can feed the beans, rice, lentils, and quinoa too - best they are soaked and cooked first. Avoid the bananas, apples, spinach - or keep the quantities very small. Basically, don't count on those as part of the "diet".

Eggs are one per five birds, we did the math. Briefly, you can increase that amount without concern

You can't possibly hit your protein targets with the rest, even if you go very heavy on the beans, something you don't want to do. Oatmeal has a ton of beta glucans - good for humans, bad for chickens. Not more than 20%. Rice is similar to corn - its energy but not a great source of anything else.

Understanding that this is NOT a balanced diet, just to make it thru - I'd go (dry weight) 2 parts black beans, 2 parts lentils, 1 part oatmeal, 4 parts rice. 1LB of each. Mix to combine.