What did chickens do before humans built them a coop?

NOLA farm

Chirping
Dec 2, 2016
New Orleans
AS a newbie I did a lot of reading to create the best coop design with locks, open air, square footage, dryness, etc. I did most of these things as recommended with a few tweaks. They have a roof. They have an oversized "condo" for sleeping and laying with open air. I decided not to put a door on the condo.

I could have done more to insure 100% dry environment but I reached a point where I started asking what the hell did they do before we started building coops for them. The facts are clear, they lived in nature.

So as I look at my coop today after a rainy few days and part of me wants to be disappointed in the moisture around the interior perimeter of the run I refuse to. The girls are scratching in the moist ground and worms are coming to the surface naturally. Why bother with any modifications I ask instead?

I discussed my coop with the hatchery I bought the girls from and he said it perfectly when I asked if I should modify this or that or add this or that. He responded, "They are chickens man"

What are your thoughts based on your experiences?

AS a newbie I did a lot of reading to create the best coop design with locks, open air, square footage, dryness, etc. I did most of these things as recommended with a few tweaks. They have a roof. They have an oversized "condo" for sleeping and laying with open air. I decided not to put a door on the condo.

I could have done more to insure 100% dry environment but I reached a point where I started asking what the hell did they do before we started building coops for them. The facts are clear, they lived in nature.

So as I look at my coop today after a rainy few days and part of me wants to be disappointed in the moisture around the interior perimeter of the run I refuse to. The girls are scratching in the moist ground and worms are coming to the surface naturally. Why bother with any modifications I ask instead?