What do i feed COCKERALS?

CashmereSussex

Songster
12 Years
Mar 28, 2007
Okies well im new to the "Chick" thing so im not sure what to feed cockerals

i feed my chicks with this thing

From 1 day old i feed them "Chick Starter" until about 12 weeks

After 12 weeks i feed "Pullet Grower" to the pullets but i dont know what to feed my roos

and at 6 months i feed "Course Layer Mash" and yea i dont know what to feed the boys

I believe they should just eat the layer feed the hens eat, since they will anyway. They don't make a food just for roosters that I know of, unless they are broilers or roasters. I could be wrong, but I've not heard it be mentioned that roosters have a special diet. I HAVE heard that they eat alot more than hens, though. Thats one reason some people don't keep them around.....feed costs and all.

We don't eat our boys, they get the same feed the girls get - currently certified organic layer mash. We provide water, feed, oyster shell and grit free-choice 24/7. The boys haven't touched the oyster shell. Our flock forages our farm from sun up to sun down, and don't eat at the feed any more than the girls do. I know this because I'm currently unemployed and spend hours with my flock.

Last edited: