What is in your First Aid Kit for your chickens

2mnypets

Crowing
14 Years
Apr 11, 2007
Saucier, Mississippi
There may already be a thread like this and if so I apologize for starting another one. I thought it would be handy for those just starting out with chickens to have a list & pictures of common items to have on hand in case of an emergency. Keep in mind since I'm a nurse I have a multitude of items that most first aid kits would not have. Here is a list of my items and some pics. The second picture is just a close up of the Bandguard that is in the first picture. The first picture from left to right and back to front is as follows:

1. Blue Kote ~ Veterinary Antiseptic - Protective Wound Dressing ($6)
2. Poultry Nutri-Drench ~ Poultry Vitamins ($5) Not necessary for daily use. Mainly for rapid results or for shipping.
3. Epson Salt ~ For sprained legs etc. ($2)
4. Hydrogen Peroxide ~ General cleaning of wounds - mix half and half with water. ($2)
5. Bitter Lime ~ To prevent fur biting, hair chewing and skin scratching. I have it for my dogs...not 100% sure it would work for the chickens though. ($6)
6. Popcicle Sticks ~ for leg or wing injury where stablization is needed. Free after you eat the popcicles
big_smile.png

7. Medicine dropper ~ To administer meds, food or water to sick or wounded bird. (2 pack for $2)
8. Bandage scissors ~ A must for any family regardless if you have pets or not. It helps that I have access to multiple ones. Hemostats are also a good thing to have - see bottem picture. (Free)
9. Vit-tal Vitamins & Electrolytes ~ For stressed or injured chickens. Short term use only. ($2)
10. Bag Balm ~ Use it for dry legs or skin ($7-8)
11. Flys Off ~ Fly repellent ointment for wounds & sores ($7) They also have a spray that you can use.
12. TAO or Triple Antibiotic Ointment ~ For general cuts, scrapes etc. ($3)