when to candle?

urbanhomesteader

Songster
14 Years
Feb 26, 2007
Yorba Linda, CA
Hi all,

Total newbie to incubating chickens.
I have had my Cuckoo Maran eggs in the incubator for three days now. When should I candle to see if there is any growth? How often should I candle? will it do them harm if I do it to often?

Thanks,
Rachel

you can candle everyday just get them back in within 30 min. You can see the air cell the 1st day if infertal they dont have 1. If you want pics of them growing put on candler with all other lights out and flash off it's cool.

There is a small air cell in all eggs fertile or not. Maran Eggs will be extreamly difficult to see anything untill later. I would wait till 10 days if it were me. You will more than likely have to judge by the air cell.. Hopefully someone that has Marans will come along and give you some advise. I find it hard to see anything in my RIR eggs untill 10 days. Lighter eggs are easy to determine by the development of veins that can be seen when candling. Those do not show up on dark eggs.

If you are turning by had then by all means candle often if you feel the need and it can help in learning what to look for. If you have a turner, then I would only candle on day 10 and 18. JMHO

Last edited:
I have Buff Orpington eggs in my incubator. They're a brown egg. I have candled every few days from day 5. But I think I actually saw some development of blood vessels at around day 4 or 5. It may have actually been closer to day 7. It was quite interesting to see, since this the absolute 1st time I've incubated eggs, or will have chickens.

I have family that used to be heavily into farming. But sadly, that's not something that I've been around. Needless to say, I still have some interest in it. I started incubating, because I've wanted to since I was like 10 years old. It's just been and itch I had to scratch recently. So far, I've been pleased with the results.