Will it work?

kuulgrl

In the Brooder
6 Years
Oct 9, 2013
Central Michigan
The coop we are building has a 4 x 4 floor and has walls 3ft high (roof makes it a bit taller).

I'm wonderin if I can add a shelf about 14" up to be able to have 1-2 more chickens. I'll probably put roosts up there?

As you can see the nesting box is attached to the side, so that frees up space too.

How many chickens do you think I can have comfortably with this? What about Jersey Giant size, how many?

I'm looking for full grown chickens, on person had Jersey Giants and I realize they will probably need more space.

Thanks! I'm a newbie to this and will have many more questions. :)

If this is for sleeping only, you can have 10 chickens in there. Once your chickens are bonded as a flock, they will enjoy snuggling together when it's cold. Coops that are for sleeping only, you don't need much space per hen. It does look like your coop will need some vents added, though. Air circulation is important.

If this is for sleeping only, you can have 10 chickens in there. Once your chickens are bonded as a flock, they will enjoy snuggling together when it's cold. Coops that are for sleeping only, you don't need much space per hen. It does look like your coop will need some vents added, though. Air circulation is important.

I had a question about vents too. I live in central Michigan and it gets quite Windy here. Are the chickens going to be warm enough in the winter or do I cover the vents when it's cold?

Also, how big should the vents be?

Vents are even more important in the winter to prevent condensation from accumulating in the winter. I have them up high in the coop so wind is not blowing directly on the hens. However, I am in the Pacific Northwest, and our winters are pretty mild. Hopefully someone from the cold places can weigh in on vents.