Emily_VVV

Chirping
May 6, 2018
Palmdale, CA
Hi all,

I'm very new to chicken ownership so obviously I haven't seen this before, but my boyfriend is pretty experienced with chickens and he hasn't seen it either.

Our hen (she's young, rhode island red, not sure about her exact age but definitely under 6 months. Still hasn't laid her first egg) isn't opening her eyes. She was fine all day yesterday and last night, and this morning my boyfriend pulled me out of bed saying she couldn't open her eyes.

I soaked a q-tip in warm water and gently wet her eye just in case it was crusted shut, and upon realizing it wasn't, I gently opened her eyelid which didn't seem to cause her any pain and her eyes are bright and normal looking.

She will drink without a fuss if we cup water in our hands and bring it to her beak, she'll eat a little but doesn't seem to care too much.

She stayed inside while the others were let out this morning, and we put her in a plastic bin with a good towel "nest", and when my boyfriend opened the door to check on our other 3, she opened one eye, then closed it again shortly after. We put her outside in her bin and promptly moved her to be with our little flock bc she was calling for them :( The chickens all stayed near her, our youngest even hopped inside to be beside her, and she was even opening one eye and looking around, but when we went to check on her her feet and beak were super hot.

We moved her inside and got her an ice pack (covered with a towel) to lay on inside her bin and have been alternating the cold when she goes back to normal temp so she doesn't get cold.

I haven't seen her open the one eye since she came back inside, and my vet is closed today so I left a message and will hopefully get in ASAP tomorrow (preferably first thing in the morning... fingers crossed).