HELP!! INJURED CHICKEN: NECK WOUND

brkbrkbrk

Songster
10 Years
Jan 31, 2014
Melbourne, Australia.
Hi I'm a newbie but i often look on this site for care of my chickens.

My dog attacked my chicken (young son accidentally let him out) and she has a huge neck wound. We have flushed it with saline iodine solution, sprayed with antibacterial spray, put some manuka honey ointment on it. We can't get neosporin or antibiotic cream in Australia without prescription, only antiseptic. This happened to another one of our chickens a few years ago and the vet put her down (i regret this choice now after reading chicken survival stories). There are no avian vets in my area.

It wasn't bleeding much just open. You can see into her neck, the neck bone and and top of the breast and the cavities around it, it is probably a 3 inch hole. So everything i have read says to keep it open and clean, it happened 3 days ago, she was shocked afterward and i thought she might die through the night, but she was fine in the morning. She is eating, drinking and laying, and desperate to go outside. I have her in the bathroom at the moment as it is summer here and there are flies everywhere. I have been letting her outside for half an hour in the evening (supervising her). She is acting totally normal.

So my question is will she have a good chance of recovery? Will the skin grow back or do I need to to stitch or stick it together partially?? The closest wound picture i could find is this and it has been stitched, so should i do the same or can i leave it open?

https://www.backyardchickens.com/t/...n-barnevelder-pullet-and-the-fix-graphic-pics

Any advice would be much appreciated, thank you.