9 chicks with potential foot and nose issues

Magpie2

Songster
Dec 7, 2021
Hello! We recently started raising chicks. The first batch is a happy, healthy group of four, still super friendly and cuddly at 12 weeks old. The second batch is a group of nine and although they seem to be thriving so far, I have a few concerns.

Firstly, the Spitzhauben chick seems to be missing the tip of its middle toe and its nose might be malformed. I’m new to chickens in general but I’ve never seen a chick’s nares take this kind of shape. Also the toe with the missing tip almost seems like it might have nails growing from the side???
1647051398555.jpeg
1647051423700.jpeg
1647051436810.jpeg
1647051450510.jpeg

When we picked up the chicks from the breeder, he offered a D’uccle chick with a foot deformity for free. A few days later when comparing the photos I took when we brought them home (March 1) to some more recent photos (March 4), I noticed that the spitz was missing the tip of its toe in both pictures. Remembering the D’uccle from the breeder’s I decided to do a once over on them all.
4/9 seem to have potential deformities. I suspect there may have been an issue late in incubation as none are related. Apart from the spitz, all of those with toe issues have feathered legs and are only clearly displaying issues on the outer toes (the ones with feathers)
1647052183604.jpeg
Bantam Cochin at 3-4 days
Outer toes are small and show no signs of any nails.

1647052364653.jpeg

Belgian D’uccle 3-4 days
Outer toes are small and may be slightly twisted on one side.

1647052463437.jpeg

Gold-laced Brahma 3-4 days