Advice on chick pickup...

HMK123

In the Brooder
12 Years
Sep 17, 2007
I expect our chicks to be delivered tommorow.

I will have my 5 year old neice with me. They will be her chickens. (My sister has to drive 4 hours to pick up her 13 year old from a friends house & is leaving the 5 year old with me.)

I am so worried that we will have a dead chick in the box. I have NEVER had this happen in the 4 times I've ordered chicks, but this is my first time getting a small order from "My Pet Chicken" and I don't know if that increases the risk of loseing one?

I was thinking I'd bring her into the post office and peak in the box and if there is a problem tell her that they need the dark and quite until we get them home (at which point I'll bring the box in the bathroom with me...) If everything looks good I can let her look...

What would you do? And has anyone heard anything about MPC and loss of chicks?

The possibility of a dead chick in the box can happen any time live chicks are sent. It doesn't matter which hatchery you chose.

I don't have kids, so I can't make any recommendations about exposing your child to a possible dead chick. But I don't think it would ruin their life. Lots of little kids have lost pets and had to learn hard lessons early on.

The odds are that everything will be fine. MPC is a good company and they take care in shipping. Also, since it is warmer this time of year, deaths from chilling are less frequent.

Good luck.

I ordered 8 from MPC. They arrived a month ago. It was still very chilly here in MT and they were all alive. I did lose one 2 days later though. My advice, if there is no chirping, DON"T open the box in front of her. If you hear happy chirps def open it! Even if there is a "passed" one in there the livley cute fuzzy butts will distract her enough! Good luck!