Aggression at 1.5 weeks of age already? Is this normal?

Fluffy_Feathers

Songster
6 Years
Jul 6, 2017
Missouri
Hey everyone. I've gotten chicks again for the second time after 6 years. I've gotten 3 barred rocks and 1 Ameraucana. I got them a week and a half ago on March 8th, and they were only like a day old then so they're about a week and a half old now. I'm a college student and am only home on the weekends, so I'm not around to see them develop through the week. After a week of not seeing them I've noticed they've become a lot more active (as expected). But today I've noticed that they seem rather aggressive. Especially my smaller one. Just a bit ago I saw my small one hopping around trying to fight another chick, but I've noticed others being a big feisty as well. I'm wondering if this is normal or if there's something going on? Could this be an early indicator of sex? We settled on barred rocks because we wanted to find pullets and then use the sexing method for them based on their markings to increase our chances for getting all hens, but we couldn't find pullets anywhere. So we just picked them out from a straight run. This either leaves us with hens or this was very stupid and we've ended up with a bunch of roosters. I got an Ameraucana pullet since I couldn't discern from the barred rocks left lol. Looking back I wish I just got all sexed Ameraucanas instead of relying on a method that I'm unsure about, but oh well. Their brooder is 820 square inches, they get medicated MannaPro starter/grower. They're at 90°F right now and they have plain tap water. Pine shavings for their bedding.

I'm just nervous with this aggression since I don't want any getting injured, but I just can't remember if this is normal development since it's been so long.

Attachments

• 20230319_201619.jpg
    20230319_201619.jpg
    435.1 KB · Views: 31
  • 20230319_201557.jpg
    20230319_201557.jpg
    767.7 KB · Views: 9