Are Your Cuckoo Marans' Laying During Winter? - UPDATE

pkzman

In the Brooder
7 Years
Feb 10, 2012
Monroe, Washington
My CM is the only one of 6 hens (all of different breeds) that has completely stopped laying in winter. Her comb is pale, not bright red like when she was laying, but otherwise seems happy and healthy. I know some hens stop laying when daylight decreases, but since she is the only one that stopped completely, I thought I would poll the experts!

Thanks!

Z

Last edited:
Every bird is different, but my CM is one of my best layers, laying just about every day. She was also the first one to lay (on December 1-- 19 1/2 weeks on the dot). However, I do have a light in the coop, so they get a few hours of supplemental light in the evening (no more than 2). She's not the "sweetest" of my 5 hens, but she produces!
tongue.png

I'm not a seasoned expert, this being my first flock, but a pale comb would worry me. Have you checked her for parasites/worms?
What are you feeding? Maybe up the protein? Is there plenty of supplemental calcium (oyster shell? yogurt?).

Same here. Mine stopped laying months ago.

My CM is the only one of 6 hens (all of different breeds) that has completely stopped laying in winter. Her comb is pale, not bright red like when she was laying, but otherwise seems happy and healthy. I know some hens stop laying when daylight decreases, but since she is the only one that stopped completely, I thought I would poll the experts!

Thanks!

Z

Thanks for the reply you guys,

I was going to take in a sample for he vet to check out just to rule out anything big. They've been on Scratch and Peck layer and when it's gonna be cold (well, for here anyway) I give them a little scratch before bed. She eats and drinks and,except for the pale comb and wattles, looks good.

If the doc finds anything in the poo sample i'll pass it on.

Thanks again!

Z